Mutharika – We have traitors in DPP

BLANTYRE (Papious Liwonde  Malawi NewsNow) – President Peter Mutharika will ring changes to the governing Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) national governing council over political traitors who have been planted by other political groupings.

Mutharika said he was aware that some people were sponsored to vie for positions to destabilise DPP. He vowed to “crush” them.

Said Mutharika: “Those that have been sent and I know them. I will not let you get away with it. I will not let anyone destabilise the party.”

Delegates to the DPP elective convention in Blantyre earlier elected President Peter Mutharika unopposed as national party president and presidential candidate in the 2019 Tripartite Elections.

Minister of Local Government and Rural Development Kondwani Nankhumwa and Salima South legislator Uladi Mussa were elected to become DPP vice-presidents for the South and Centre, respectively.

Cabinet ministers Goodall Gondwe (Finance, Economic Planning and Development) and Bright Msaka (Education, Science and Technology) also went through unopposed as vice-presidents for North and Eastern regions, respectively.

Also going through unopposed for their respective positions were: Jappie Mhango (treasurer general), Symon Vuwa Kaunda (director of logistics), Ralph Jooma (director of economic affairs), Evason Chimulilenji (director of campaign) and Charles Mhango (director of legal affairs).